Training: Four Areas of Focus

four areas of focus

Discover how The United Methodist Church is focusing on four key areas of ministry in the "Four Areas of Focus” (FAF101) free, self-directed online course. The four areas of leadership development, church growth, ministry with the poor and global health express the vision and yearnings of the people of The United Methodist Church. These areas of ministry focus the work of making disciples of Jesus Christ for the transformation of the world by:

  • Developing principled Christian leaders for the church and the world.
  • Creating new places for new people and revitalizing existing congregations.
  • Engaging in ministry with the poor.
  • Combating the diseases of poverty by improving health globally.

Course Details:

What will I learn?

This course is divided into 4 parts. In the course, you’ll learn about the following Four Areas of Focus:

  • Developing Principled Christian Leaders for the Church and the World
  • New Places for New People and Renewing Existing Congregations
  • Engaging in Ministry with the Poor
  • Stamping Out Killer Diseases of Poverty by Improving Health Globally

What can I expect?

This course is interactive. You can move at your own pace. We use discussion forums, quizzes and other activities for a class that’s engaging and hands-on.

How to Register

 Online Resources:
Four Areas of Focus website
Download a promotional flyer about the Four Areas of Focus online course (PDF 1.34 MB)


Contact Us

This will not reach a local church, district or conference office. InfoServ* staff will answer your question, or direct it to someone who can provide information and/or resources.


*InfoServ ( about ) is a ministry of United Methodist Communications located in Nashville, Tennessee, USA. 1-800-251-8140

Not receiving a reply?
Your Spam Blocker might not recognize our email address. Add this address to your list of approved senders.